Under the laws of the State of Texas, you may request the dismissal of one (1) MOVING traffic violation every twelve (12) months by taking a State approved drivers' safety course.
You are ELIGIBLE to take a Driving Safety Course for the dismissal of a violation if:
You have a valid Texas driver's license (CDL holders are ineligible)
You have current proof of financial responsibility (Texas liability insurance)
You have not taken a driving safety course within the 12 months preceeding the date of your violation
You are not currently taking a driving safety course for another traffic violation
You request a driving safety course on or before your initial appearance date
(If you are active military, you may be eligible to take a driving safety course if you have a valid driver's license from another state. Contact the Court.)
The following offenses do not qualify for Driving Safety Course Dismissal:
Speeding 25 miles per hour or more above the posted speed limit
Passing a stopped school bus
Moving violations within a school zone or a posted construction zone while workers are present
Leaving the scene of an accident
If you do qualify to make your request, you must:
Complete the Request & Affidavit for Driving Safety Course, including having your signature notarized. This is on the courtesy letter provided to you by the Officer or you may download a court form HERE.
Submit the Request & Affidavit to the Court, either in person or by certified mail, ON OR BEFORE the appearance date shown on your citation. Requests over the phone WILL NOT be accepted.
Submit $109.10* for Court costs in the form of a money order or cashier's check made payable to the Llano Municipal Court. No personal checks will be accepted and never, under any circumstances, send cash in the mail. *This does not include the cost of the course or your State issued driving record.
Provide the Court a copy of your Texas driver's license AND proof of Texas liability insurance (proof of financial responsibility) valid in your name.
Provide the Court your Type 3A Driving Record ordered from the Texas Department of Public Safety at www.texas.gov. This record can be downloaded immediately upon payment. You may call the Texas DPS office in Austin @ 512.424.2600 to order your record, but this could take several weeks to receive.
You will have ninety (90) days to complete the course AND return the Certificate of Completion to the Court. You must sign the Court Copy of your Certificate of Completion and send it to the Court to arrive no later than your due date. Certificates of Completion received after your due date WILL NOT be accepted.
Courses are offered at a variety of locations, the internet and DVD. ONLY State of Texas approved courses will be accepted by the Court. To find a State approved course, you can go online to www.tea.state.tx.us.
If you cannot verify that you qualify for the Driving Safety Course, you will be required to pay the fine and Court costs for the offense and your offense will be considered as a conviction on your driving record.